The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Texas Permian Basin
   
 
  Aug 22, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
2015 - 2017 UTPB Undergraduate Catalog

Faculty


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Harold Abrams, Assistant Professor of Political Science.
BA, Colgate University, MS, University of New York at Stonybrook, PhD(1991), New York University. abrams_h@utpb.edu

Perla Abrego, Assistant professor of Spanish.
PhD (2011), Vanderbilt University. abrego_p@utpb.edu

Steven J. Aicinena, Professor of Kinesiology. Athletic Director.
BA, University of California at Davis; MA, Idaho State University; EdD (1988), University of Northern Colorado. aicinena_s@utpb.edu

Donald M. Allen, Professor of Biology and Ashbel Smith Professor.
BA, MA, PhD (1970), University of Oregon. allen_d@utpb.edu

Sophia Andres, Professor of English and Fellow in the Kathlyn Cosper Dunagan Professorship in Humanities. BA, MA, San Jose State University, California; PhD (1985), University of Edinburgh, Scotland. andres_s@utpb.edu

Maria Avalos, Assistant Professor of Education
BA, Southwestern University; MEd, Texas State University; PhD, Univeristy of Texas at Austin. avalos_m@utpb.edu

Rebecca Day Babcock, Associate Professor of English.
BA, MA, University of Massachusetts at Boston; PhD (2005), Indiana University of Pennsylvania. babcock_r@utpb.edu

Kevin Badgett, Assistant Professor of Education
BA, Pepperdine University; MS, EdD (2011), University of Houston-Clear Lake. badgett_k@utpb.edu

Shuming Bai, Assistant Professor of Finance.
BA, Zhengzhou University, China; MA, MBA, PhD (2008), The University of Texas – Pan American. bai_s@utpb.edu

Kyle A. Beran, Professor of Chemistry.
BS, Angelo State University; Ph.D. (1994) University of Kansas, Lawrence. beran_k@utpb.edu

David Betounes, Professor of Mathematics,
PhD (1978), Florida State University. betounes_d@utpb.edu

Melaku Bogali, Lecturer of Physics.
PhD in Computational Science (2013), UT El Paso, MS in Physics (2008), New Mexico State University.

Robyn Braun, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology.
BS, University of Florida, MS, Barry University, PhD (2013) Florida State University. braun_r@upb.edu

Nydia Cabra, Lecturer of Kinesiology, Head Athletic Trainer,
ME (2000), Southwest Texas State University.

Scott A. Carson, Professor of Economics.
BS, MS, Brigham Young University; PhD (1998) University of Utah. carson_s@utpb.edu

Janet Carter, Assistant Professor of Education.
BS, Midwestern State University; MA, University of Northern Iowa; PhD (2010), Utah State University. carter_j@utpb.edu

Derek Catsam, Associate Professor of History, Kathlyn Cosper Dunagan Fellow in the Humanities,
BA, Williams College; MA, University of North Carolina, Charlotte; PhD (2003) Ohio University. catsam_d@utpb.edu

R. Wayne Counts, Assistant Professor of Accountancy.
BBA, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; MS, PhD (2004), Texas Tech University. counts_w@utpb.edu

Samuel David, Assistant Professor of Chemistry.
PhD (1997), University of Kentucky – Lexington.

Jeff Dennis, Assistant Professor of Sociology.
BA, Texas Christian University, MA, Texas Tech University, PhD (2010), University of Colorado at Boulder. dennis_j@utpb.edu

Raj Desai, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Industrial Technology, Chair of Engineering & Technology. BE, Bangalore University; MS, Texas A & M University; DIT (1991), University of Northern Iowa. desai_r@utpb.edu

Wilma R. Dye, Associate Professor of Accountancy. BBA, San Jose State University; MS, University of North Texas; PhD (1998), Texas Tech University. dye_w@utpb.edu

James Eldridge, Associate Professor of Kinesiology.
BA, Texas Lutheran College; MA, Southwest Texas State University; EdD (1996), University of Houston. eldridge_j@utpb.edu

L. Gayle Ellis, Lecturer and Director of Field Education - Social Work.
BA, University of Texas of the Permian Basin, MS(1991) Out Lady of the Lake University. ellis_l@utpb.edu

Craig Emmert, Associate Professor of Political Science.
BS, Oklahoma State University; MA, Purdue University; PhD (1989), Florida State University. emmert_c@utpb.edu

Frank Eychaner, Associate Professor of Music.
DMA (2009) University of Kentucky – Lexington. eychaner_f@utpb.edu

William R. Fannin, Professor of Management.
BA, MBA, The University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1980), Texas A & M University. fannin_w@utpb.edu

Emily Farris, Assistant Professor of Psychology.
BA, MA, Midwestern State University, PhD (2012) University of Texas Arlington. farris_e@utpb.edu

Michael Frawley, Senior Lecturer in History.
PhD in History (2014), Louisiana State University. fawley_m@utpb.edu

Paul Feit, Professor of Mathematics.
BS, Harvard University; PhD (1985), Princeton University. feit_p@utpb.edu

Aldo Garcia, Lecturer of Chemistry.
MS in Analytical Chemistry (2013), Texas Tech University

Jessica Garrett, Assistant Professor of Education
BS, West Texas State University; MA, University of Texas of the Permian Basin; EdD (2004), Sam Houston State University. garrett_j@utpb.edu

Tracie M. Gibson, Assistant Professor of Biology.
BA, Cornell College, Iowa; MS, Ph.D. (2000), Purdue University. gibson_t@utpb.edu.

Joanna Hadjicostandi, Associate Professor of Sociology.
BA, Thames Polytechnic, England; MA, PhD (1987) Northeastern University. hadjicostandi_j@utpb.edu

Paul J. Haensly, Associate Professor and Coordinator of Finance, And Chair of Undergraduate Studies.
BS, Texas A & M University; MA, The University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1994), University of North Texas. haensly_p@utpb.edu

Brian A. Hagler, Associate Professor of Mathematics.
BS, PhD (1997), University of Colorado. hagler_b@utpb.edu

Rachel Harlow, Assistant Professor of Communication.
PhD (2005), Texas Tech University. harlow_r@utpb.edu

William F. Harlow; Dean of Undergraduate Success and Associate Professor of Communication.
BA, Angelo State University; MA, University of Texas El Paso; PhD (2002) Texas A&M University.

Kevin Harris, Assistant Professor of Psychology.
BA, Indiana University of Kokomo, MS, Indiana University Bloomington, Ph.D (2011), Ball State University. harris_k@utpb.edu

Nancy Hart, Associate Professor of Art.
BA, Virginia Commonwealth University, MFA(1983), Cranbrook Academy of Art. hart_n@utpb.edu

Douglas P. Henderson, Associate Professor of Biology.
BA, Fairmont State College, W. Virginia; PhD (1993), The University of Texas at Austin. henderson_d@utpb.edu

Christopher Hiatt, Associate Professor of Mathematics.
BS, University of Idaho; MA, PhD (2007), University of Southern California. hiatt_c@utpb.edu

Diana Davids Hinton, Professor of History and J. Conrad Dunagan Chair in Regional and Business History. BA, Swarthmore College; MA, MPhil, PhD(1969), Yale University. hinton_d@utpb.edu

Paul E. Hodges, Professor and Coordinator of Economics, and Ashbel Smith Professor.
BA, MA, New Mexico State University; PhD (1974), Stanford University. hodges_p@utpb.edu

Jamie Hughes, Assistant Professor of Psychology.
BS, Michigan State University, MS, Illinois State University, PhD (2010), New Mexico State University. hughes_j@utpb.edu

Jeannine F. Hurst, Associate Professor of Education.
BA, MA, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; PhD (2003), Texas Tech University. hurst_j@utpb.edu

Roy Hurst, Professor of Education and Associate Dean of the College of Education.
BA, Whitman College, MS, Eastern Oregon State College; PhD (1994), University of Southern Mississippi. hurst_r@utpb.edu

Dan Keast, Associate Professor of Music.
BM, Morningside College; MEd, PhD (2004), University of Missouri-Columbia. keast_d@utpb.edu

Kay E. Ketzenberger, Associate Professor of Social Work.
BA, University of Baltimore; MS, The University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1995), Michigan State University. ketzenberger_k@utpb.edu

Richard G. Kiekbusch, Associate Professor of Criminology.
BA, MA, PhD (1973), University of Notre Dame. kiekbusch_r@utpb.edu

Mario Kiran, Assistant Professor of Art.
BFA, Ken School of the Arts; MFA, University of South Dakota. kiran_m@utpb.edu

Kay Kolb, Lecturer of English.
BA, MA (2001) University of Texas of the Permian Basin. kolb_k@utpb.edu

Gae E. Kovalick, Associate Professor of Biology.
BA, Wittenberg University; PhD (1984), University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. kovalick_g@utpb.edu

William Kritsonis, Professor of Education.
BA, Central Washington University; MA, Seattle Pacific University; PhD, The University of Iowa. kritsonis_w@uptb.edu

Jason Lagapa, Associate Professor of English.
BA, Bennington College; MA, PhD (2003), University of Arizona. lagapa_j@utpb.edu

Haesun Lee, Professor of Computer Science.
BA, MA, Ewha Women University, Korea; MS, PhD (1997), Illinois Institute of Technology. lee_h@utpb.edu

Ilhyun Lee, Professor of Computer Science.
BA, University of Minnesota; MS, PhD (1996), Illinois Institute of Technology. lee_l@utpb.edu

Priyoo Manakote, Lecturer of Marketing.
MS, University of Illinois; MBA, University of Calicut; ABD, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale.

Lori Manship, Senior Lecturer of Geology.
BS, Sul Ross State University, MS, Bowling Green State University, Ph.D (2008) Texas Tech University.

Ana Martinez-Catsam, Associate Professor of History.
BA, Texas A&M University; MA St. Mary’s University; PhD (2003), Texas Tech University. martinez_a@utpb.edu

Carlos Marrufo, Director of Education Field Experiences.
BS, Sul Ross State University; Med, Stephen F. Austin University..

Taylor McMichael, Lecturer of Political Science,
BA, Texas State University – San Marcos, MA (2008), Texas Tech University. mcmichael_t@utpb.edu

Ruth Ann McQuitty, Lecturer of Education.
BA, MA (1990), University of Texas-Permian Basin. mcquitty@utpb.edu

Milka Montes, Assistant Professor of Chemistry.
BS, PhD (2010), University of Texas El Paso. montes_m@utpb.edu

Clark Moreland, Lecturer of English.
BA, MA (2005), University of Texas of the Permian Basin. moreland_c@utpb.edu

Jose Moreno, Assistant Professosr of Spanish.
PhD (2010), University of Kansas. moreno_j@utpb.edu

David Morris, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology.
PhD (2005), University of New Mexico. morris_d@utpb.edu

Emilio Mutis-Duplat, Professor of Geology.
BS, Universidad Nacional de Colombia en Bogota; MS, Texas A&M University; PhD (1972), The University of Texas at Austin. mutis_e@utpb.edu

A.M. Nunley III, Lecturer of Management.
BBA, the University of Texas of the Permian Basin; MBA, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; JD, St. Mary’s University ; LLm (1985), Southern Methodist University. nunley_a@utpb.edu

James N. Olson, Professor of Psychology.
BA, University of California-Santa Barbara; MA, PhD (1974), University of California-Los Angeles. olson_j@utpb.edu

Maureen F. Page, Lecturer of English.
BA, MA (2004), University of Texas of the Permian Basin. page_m@utpb.edu

K. Prakash Pai, Assistant Professor of Finance.
BC, MC, Bangalore University; MBA, MS, PhD (2004), Kent State University. pai_p@utpb.edu

Irene H. Perry, Lecturer of Biology.
BA, MS (1994) Texas A&M University. perry_I@utpb.edu

Robert L. Perry, Associate Professor of Political Science. Director of Honors Program.
BA, Texas A & M University; PhD (1995), Texas A & M University. perry_r@utpb.edu

Diane M. Post, Associate Professor of Biology.
BS, PhD (1991), Kansas State University. post_d@utpb.edu

William H. Price, Assistant Professor of Management, Dean of the College of Business and Engineering.
BBA, Eastern New Mexico University; MS, Gonzaga University; DBA (2001) Nova Southeastern University. price_w@utpb.edu

Suzanne Rathbun, Lecturer of Psychology.
BS, University of Colorado; MA (1991), The University of Texas of the Permian Basin. rathbun_s@utpb.edu

Susan M. Ray, Lecturer in Biology and Clinical Laboratory Science
BS, University of Arizona; MS (1995), University of Texas of the Permian Basin. Ray_s@utpb.edu

Mylan Redfern, Professor of Mathematics.
PhD (1988), Louisiana State University.

Todd Richardson, Associate Professor of English.
BA, College of Wooster; MA, University of Delaware; Ph.D. (2002), University of South Carolina.

Kara Rosenblatt, Assistant Professor of Education,
BS, MS Florida State University; PhD (2009) University of Central Florida.

Yolanda Salgado, Assistant Professor of Edcuation.
BS, Arizona State University; M.A, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; PhD (2008), New Mexico State University. salgado_y@utpb.edu

Anshu Saran, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Marketing.
BA, University of Allahabad India; MBA, Asian Institute of Management, Manila, Philippines; PhD, The University of Texas –Pan American. saran_a@utpb.edu

Ann Marie Smith, Assistant Professor of Education.
BA, University of Northern Iowa; MA, Iowa State University; PhD (2006), University of Maryland, College Park. smith_a@utpb.edu

R. Douglas Spence, Associate Professor of Biology.
BS, Houston Baptist University; MS, PhD (1986), Texas A&M University. spence_d@utpb.edu

Lorraine T. Spickermann, Lecturer of Education.
BA, MA (1986) University of California at Berkeley. spickermann_l@utpb.edu

Roland Spickermann, Associate Professor of History.
BA, University of California at Berkeley; MA, PhD (1994), University of Michigan. spickermann_r@utpb.edu

Carol Staggs, Lecturer of Education.
BA, Abilene Christian University; MA (2006), University of Texas of the Permian Basin. stags_c@utpb.edu

Christopher Stanley, Associate Professor of Art
BSE/BFA, University of Kansas; MFA (1991), Washington State University. stanley_c@utpb.edu

Joe Stauffer, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Management.
BB, MBA Western Illinois University; Ma, University of Iowa; Ph.D, University of Oklahoma. stauffer_j@utpb.edu

Emily L. Stoudt, Assistant Professor of Geology.
BA, Ohio State University; MS Louisiana State University; Ph.D. (1975), Ohio State University. stoudt_e@utpb.edu

Hua Lin (Helen) Sun, Associate Professor of Communication.
BA, Hubei University, People’s Republic of China; MA Henan University, People’s Republic of China; ME, Frostburg State University; PhD (2003), Florida State University. sun_h@utpb.edu.

Lloyd J. Taylor, III, Associate Professor of Management.
BS, Texas Tech University; MBA, Midwestern State University; PhD (1994) Texas Tech University. taylor_l@utpb.edu

Robert Trentham, Senior Lecturer of Geology. Director - Center for Energy & Economic Diversification.
BS, MA, City College of New York; DGS (1981) The University of Texas at El Paso. trentham_r@utpb.edu

Chad Vanderford, Associate Professor of History.
BA, University of California, Berkeley; MA, California State University, Northridge; PhD (2005), Louisiana State University. vanderford_c@utpb.edu

Vladan Vuckovic, Lecturer of Computer Science
BS, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; MS, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin (2012), vuckovic_v@utpb.edu

Sarah Shawn Watson; Chair of the Department of Visual & Performing Arts and Associate Professor of English. BA, University of Massachusetts-Boston; MA, Ohio University; PhD (1983), Cornell University. watson_s@utpb.edu

W. David Watts, President of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin and Professor of Sociology
BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA and PhD (1976) State University of New York at Buffalo. watts_d@utpb.edu

Jake Weigel, Lecturer of Art,
MFA (2013), University of Mississippi.

Mark Wildermuth, Professor of English and Fellow in the Kathlyn Cosper Dunagan Professorship in Humanities. BA, MA, George Mason University; PhD (1991), University of Wisconsin-Madison. wildermuth_m@utpb.edu

Marianne Berger Woods, Associate Professor of Art History.
BA, Heidelberg College; MA, Case Western Reserve; Ph.D. (2000) The Union Institute. woods_m@utpb.edu

Douglas Young, Senior Lecturer of Physics.
PhD (1998), Texas Tech University.

Diana Younger, Lecturer of Psychology.
BA, Tulane University; MA (1989), The University of Texas of the Permian Basin. younger_d@utpb.edu

Quan Yuan, Assistant Professor of Computer Science.
PhD (2009), Florida Atlantic University. quan_y@utpb.edu

Michael Zavada, Professor of Biology and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.
BS, MS Arizona State University; PhD (1982) The University of Connecticut.

Xinyun Zhu, Associate Professor of Mathematics
BS, Northwest Normal University; MS, Shanxi Normal University; Ph.D (2005) Oklahoma State University. zhu_x@utpb.edu

Thomas Dynneson, Professor of Education, emeritus, 1973-1995
Patricio T. Jaramillo, Professor of Education.
Edwin Kurtz, Professor of Life Science, Emeritus, 1972-1989.
Stanley Marcus, Professor of Art, Emeritus, 1973-1992.
James A. Nickel, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, Emeritus, 1972-1993.
Robert Colbert Rhodes, Professor of Sociology, Emeritus, 1975-2002
Frank N. Samponaro, Professor of History, Emeritus, 1974-1999.