Nov 20, 2019  
2018 - 2020 UTPB Graduate Studies Catalog 
    
2018 - 2020 UTPB Graduate Studies Catalog

Tuition, Fees and Deposits



 

Residency for Tuition

A student entering The University of Texas of the Permian Basin for the first time, or a student reentering the University after an absence of one year or more, should read carefully the rules governing the determination of residence in order to be prepared to pay the required tuition. The Office of Admissions initially determines Texas residency status for all new or re-applying students for the University. The initial decision is based on information provided by way of the admission application and Core Residency Questionnaire required to be completed by the student. Information and advice regarding residency status are available from the Residence Determination Official (Registrar). Texas Education Codes 56.011 & 56.012 requires higher education institutions to set aside a portion of designated tuition for financial aid. The portion set aside for this purpose will be listed on the Statement of Student Accounts (tuition bill).

Under state statutes and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board rules and regulations interpreting those statutes, Title 19, Chapter 21, a prospective student is classified as a resident of Texas, a nonresident, or an international student. A person who has resided in the state under circumstances specified in these rules is eligible for classification as a resident. A citizen, a national, or a permanent resident of the United States not eligible to be classified as a resident is classified as a nonresident student. An alien who is not a permanent resident of the United States and has not been permitted by Congress to adopt the United States as a domicile while in this country is classified as an international student.

An individual classified as a nonresident or as an international student may qualify, under certain exceptions specified in these rules, for resident tuition rates and other charges while continuing to be classified as a nonresident or an international student. Students may access the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s rules at the following web site: www.thecb.state.tx.us/cbrules. For further information on reclassification or Residency issues please see Registration section subsection Residency Reclassification.

Reclassification for Tuition purposes

A student has a right to apply for reclassification of Residency for tuition purposes after a continuous 12 month period of living in Texas. A nonresident student may be reclassified as a resident if employment or personal factors or actions are indisputably indicating a permanent intention to reside in the state. Students are required to apply with the Residence Determination official in the Office of the Registrar. For further information on reclassification please see Registration section subsection Residency Reclassification.

Responsibility of Student

If there is any question as to residence status it is the student’s responsibility, 30 days prior to registration, to raise the question with the administrative officials of the institution in which he or she is enrolling for official determination. Students classified as Texas residents must affirm the correctness of that classification as a part of the registration procedure. If the student’s classification as a resident becomes inappropriate for any reason, it is the responsibility of the student to notify the proper administrative officials at the institution. Failure to notify the institution constitutes a violation of the oath of residency and may result in disciplinary action. Students claiming residency by virtue of parental dependency must provide sufficient documentation to support the residency claim of the parent. Residency is determined by state statutes and in accordance with the guidelines promulgate by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The Registrar or Residence Determination Official determines all residency classifications. To appeal the decision of the Registrar in residency matters, students may present their case to the Vice President for Student Services. If students wish to appeal that decision, they may address the President of the University whose decision is final.

Exemptions and Waiver Programs

Students who do not qualify for in-state may have the opportunity for state available exemption and waiver programs. Students are advised to seek information about these programs with the office of accounting. Student requesting to be reclassified as Texas resident status may contact the Residency determination official (Registrar). Continued receipt of a tuition and fee exemption and/or waiver is conditioned on the student maintaining a GPA for making satisfactory academic progress and, if an undergraduate, not completing an excessive number of credit hours.

Exemption programs for Tuition and fees

Accredited School Scholarship
Adopted Children formerly in Foster or other Residential Care
Blind and Deaf Students
Children of Disabled/Deceased Texas Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers
Children of Prisoners of War or Persons Missing in Action
Children of Professional Nursing Program Faculty
Children and Spouse of Texas Veterans
Concurrent Enrolled High School/University Credit
Disabled Peace Officers
Distance/Off Campus Learning
Economic Hardship
Firefighters enrolled in Fire Science Courses
Fully Funded Courses
Good neighbor Scholarship
Interinstitutional Academic Programs
Members of State Military Forces
Nursing Preceptors and their Children
Prisoners of War
Senior Citizen
Students Under Conservatorship of Department of Family and Protective Services
Surviving Spouse and Minor Children of Certain Police, Security or Emergency Personnel Killed in the Line of Public Duty
Texas EX-Servicemen

Specific details about these exemptions can be found at the www.Collegefortexans.com website. If you have any questions about whether you qualify for these exemptions you may contact the Registrar (Residency Determination Official) at 432-552-2635.

Waiver Programs- for Tuition and Fees

Description Eligibility Exempted Charges*
**Accredited School Scholarship (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.301 Highest ranking graduate of an accredited Texas high school Tuition during first two semesters (long session) following graduation
Adopted Children formerly in Foster or other Residential Care Texas Education Code, § 54.367
  • For individuals who were adopted; and
  • Were subject of an adoption assistance agreement under Texas Family Code Subchapter D, Chapter 162, that provided monthly payments and medical assistance benefits and was not limited to providing only for the reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses
Tuition and Fees
Blind and Deaf Students Texas Education Code, § 54.364
  • A blind disabled person, or a person whose sense of hearing is nonfunctional
  • Must be a Texas resident
Tuition
Required Fees
General Property Deposit
Children of Disabled/Deceased Texas Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers Texas Education Code, § 54.351
  • For children under 21 years of age (or 22 if the student was eligible to participate in special education under Texas Education Code, § 29.003) of disabled full-paid or volunteer firefighters, full-paid municipal, county, state peace officers, custodians of the Department of Criminal Justice, or game wardens
  • Disability/death occurred in the line of duty
Tuition
Required Fees not to exceed 120 undergraduate credit hours or any semester begun after age 26
Children of Prisoners of War or Persons Missing in Action Texas Education Code, § 54.343
  • A person under the age of 21 or a dependent person under 25 years of age who receives majority of support from parent
  • Parent is a resident of Texas on active duty military and classified by Department of Defense as a Prisoner of War or Missing in Action at time of the student’s registration

Tuition

Required Fees

Children of Professional Nursing Program Faculty Texas Education Code, § 54.355
  • For children whose parent is a faculty member or teaching assistant in a nursing program in Texas
  • Age is 25 years or younger
  • Texas resident
  • Has not previously received a baccalaureate degree
  • Has not previously received an exemption under this section for 10 semesters or summer sessions
  • Exemption applies only at institution that employs the parent/faculty member
Tuition
(prorated if parent is not full-time)
Children and Spouse of Texas Veterans Texas Education Code, § 54.341
  • For children or the spouse of members of the U.S. armed forces who were killed in action, who die or died while in service, are MIA, whose death is documented to be directly caused by illness or injury related to service in the U.S. armed forces, or who become totally disabled for purposes of employability according to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ disability rating as a result of a service-related injury
  • For children or the spouse of members of the Texas National Guard who after January 1, 1946, were killed while on active duty or became totally disabled for purposes of employability according to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ disability rating as a result of a service-related injury
  • Classified as a resident on the date of registration
  • A child is a person who is 25 or younger on the first day of the semester for which the exemption is claimed.

Tuition Fees (excluding general deposit fees, student services fees, and any charges for lodging, board, or clothing)

NOT TO EXCEED 150 CREDIT HOURS

**Concurrent Enrollment–High School/University Credit (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.216 Individuals enrolled in a course that provides simultaneously course credit towards (1) high school academic requirements; and (2) a degree offered by the institution All or part of tuition and fees
**Disabled Peace Officers (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.352
  • Texas resident who has resided in Texas for 12 months immediately preceding registration
  • Permanently disabled as a result of injury sustained in performance of duties as Texas peace officer
  • Unable to continue duties as peace officer

Tuition

Fees excluding class and laboratory fees

NOT TO EXCEED 12 SEMESTERS IN UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

**Distance/Off-Campus Learning (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.218 Student enrolled only in distance learning courses or other off-campus courses Fees for activities, services or facilities that the student cannot reasonably be expected to use
Economic Hardship Texas Education Code, § 54.262
  • When payment of fee causes undue economic hardship – number of exceptions limited to 5 percent of total enrollment
     
General Fee
Firefighters enrolled in Fire Science Courses Texas Education Code § 54.3631 Firefighters who: are employed by a political subdivision of Texas as a firefighter; or are currently and have been for at least one year, an active member of an organized volunteer fire department in Texas, as defined by the fire fighters’ pension commissioner, who holds appropriate levels of certification as specified in the statute; and are enrolled in course offered as a part of fire science curriculum

Tuition

Laboratory Fees

**Fully Funded Courses (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.217 Individuals enrolled in courses that are fully funded by federal or other sources Tuition and Fees for particular course
**Good Neighbor Scholarship (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.331 A limited number (as prescribed by the Coordinating Board) of native-born citizens and residents from nations of the Western Hemisphere other than the United States Tuition
Interinstitutional Academic Programs (Permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.368 Individuals taking a course at an institution under an interinstitutional academic program agreement, but who is enrolled primarily at another institution

Tuition

Required Fees

Members of State Military Forces Texas Education Code, § 54.345 Individual certified by the adjutant general of the state military forces as having been awarded assistance for tuition and fees under Texas Government Code, § 431.090

Tuition not to exceed 12 semester credit hours charged at the Texas resident rate

Mandatory Fees for any semester in which the tuition exemption is received

Nursing Preceptors and their Children Texas Education Code, § 54.356
  • Texas resident
  • Registered nurse
  • Serving under contract as a clinical preceptor OR
  • A child 25 years or younger whose parent meets the criteria above, has not previously received a baccalaureate degree, and has not previously received an exemption under this section for 10 semesters or summer sessions
$500 off tuition per semester
Prisoners of War Texas Education Code, § 54.342
  • Is a resident of Texas and was a resident of Texas at the time of original entry into the U.S. armed forces
  • Was first classified as a POW on or after January 1, 1999
  • Is enrolled for at least 12 semester credit hours

Tuition and Required Fees

Student Housing and Food Contract Costs

Textbook Costs

NOT TO EXCEED 120 HOURS

**Senior citizen (permissive) Texas Education Code, § 54.365

Individuals 65 years of age or older on space available basis

 

Individuals 65 years of age or older on space available basis may audit

Tuition

NOT TO EXCEED 6 CREDIT HOURS PER SEMESTER

Tuition

Students Under Conservatorship of Department of Family and Protective Services Texas Education Code, § 54.366
  • For individuals under the conservatorship of the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services on the day preceding the individual’s 18th birthday, on or after the day of the student’s 14th birthday if the student was eligible for adoption on or after that day, on the day the student received a high school diploma or equivalent, or during an academic term in which the student was enrolled in a dual credit course
  • Enrolls in an institution of higher education (including a dual credit course) no later than his or her 25th birthday

Tuition

Required Fees

Surviving Spouse and Minor Children of Certain Police, Security or Emergency Personnel Killed in the Line of Public Duty Texas Education Code, § 54.354
  • For the surviving spouse or children of certain public peace officers, probation officers, parole officers, jailers, police reservists, fire fighters, and emergency medical personnel, Texas Gov’t Code § 615.003
  • Death occurred in the line of duty as a result of a risk inherent in the duty
  • Must be enrolled full-time

Tuition and Fees

Student Housing and Food Contract Costs Textbook Costs

NOT TO EXCEED BACHELOR’S DEGREE OR 200 HOURS

Texas Ex-Servicemen Texas Education Code, § 54.341
  • Currently resides in Texas (unless the student received the exemption prior to fall 2011)
  • Entered the service at a location in Texas
  • Declared Texas as the person’s home of record or would have been a resident of Texas under Subchapter B at the time of entry
  • Served in U.S. armed forces in World War II, Korean Conflict, the Cold War, Vietnam, Grenada era, Lebanon, Panama, Persian Gulf, the national emergency related to 9/11/2001
  • Honorably discharged
  • Not eligible for federal education benefits

Tuition

Fees (excluding general deposit fees, student services fees, and any charges for lodging, board, or clothing)

Other required charges

NOT TO EXCEED 150 CREDIT HOURS (assignment of unused hours to children under 25 years of age may be authorized by the veteran or following the death of an eligible veteran)

*This information is provided in summary form. For more information contact the Office of Accounting at (432) 552-2706 and/or refer to Texas Education Code Section 54.201, et seq.

**Must have Regental approval.
***Required fees are those required as a condition of enrollment. They do not include room, board, books, transportation, lab fees or other course specific fees or optional fees.

Refund of Tuition and Fees for Students Withdrawing from the University or Reducing Course Load

Upon completing a withdrawal form and submission to the Registrar, the percent of tuition refund will be determined. Refund amounts for withdrawals are based on the total number of hours in which a student is enrolled at the date of withdrawal. Students withdrawing will be refunded appropriate tuition and fees as follows:

Long Semesters

Prior to first class day 100%
  (Less a $15 matriculation fee)  
During the first 5 class days 80%
During the second 5 class days 70%
During the third 5 class days 50%
During the fourth 5 class days 25%
After the fourth 5 class days NONE

Summer Session

Prior to the first class day 100%
  (Less a $15 matriculation fee)  
During the first, second or third class day 80%
During the fourth, fifth or sixth class day 50%
After the sixth class day NONE

First time students receiving federal aid under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 will be entitled to a refund of the higher of: (1) the refund required by applicable state law; (2) the refund required by the accrediting agency; or (3) the pro rata refund as prescribed by federal law.

Texas Tuition Rebate

In the Spring of 1997, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1907 which provides a $1,000 rebate of a portion of the undergraduate tuition paid by certain students. These students are those Texas residents who are awarded a baccalaureate degree and have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree, including transfer credit and course credit earned exclusively by examination.  The statute contains further detail on who is qualified and directs the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to adopt rules for the administration of the rebate.  Students who believe they may qualify for this rebate should ask the Registrar’s Office for further information.

Notification

Student will be given a bill, via printed format or via online format of tuition charges. This will include the amount of his/her tuition payment that is required to be set aside to provide financial assistance for the students enrolled at the institution.

Payment of Tuition and Fees

Tuition charges at Texas state universities are established by state law. The State of Texas 78th Legislature allowed the Board of Regents of the University of Texas System to set designated tuition rates. The State of Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount of any particular student fee. Student fees assessed are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the University administration and the University Of Texas System Board Of Regents. All other fees at the University of Texas of the Permian Basin are fixed within statutory limitations set by the Board of Regents. All tuition and fees are subject to change by the State of Texas Legislature or Board of Regents without notice. Tuition and fees at the University of Texas of the Permian Basin are subject to change in adherence with acts of the State of Texas Legislature and/or policies of the Board of Regents.

Students are not entitled to enter a class or laboratory until their fees and deposits have been paid. Students are expected to pay all tuition and fees at the time of registration or have an approved financial aid program arranged by the Financial Aid Office prior to registration. Payment may be made by cash, check, credit card, or money order. Check, money order, and credit card (VISA, MasterCard, and Discover) payments will be accepted subject to final collection by the University’s bank. All checks must be drawn on U. S. banks in U. S. dollars. When a check is returned to the University, a $25.00 service charge is assessed. If the returned check was for tuition, the student’s registration will be cancelled.

Section 54.007 of the Texas Education Code authorizes the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System to provide for the payment of tuition and mandatory fees during the fall and spring semesters through the following alternatives:

  1.  Full payment of tuition and fees in advance of the beginning of the semester; or
  2.  Payment in installments under payment plan options that require the first payment to be made in advance of the beginning of the semester and the final payment to be made before the last day of the semester.

There will be a $75 administrative fee assessed if the installment payment option is used and a $10 late fee. A student who fails to provide full payment of tuition and fees, including late fees assessed, to the University when the payments are due, is subject to one or more of the following actions at the University’s option:

  1.  Prohibition from registering for classes until full payment is made;
  2.  Withholding of grades, degree and official transcript; and loss of credit for work completed that semester;
  3.  All penalties and actions authorized by law;
  4.  Referral of debt to a collection agency.

All policies regarding the payment or refunding of tuition, fees, and charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with and are subject to change by applicable state statutes. If a person desires clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of such charges, or believes special circumstances warrant exceptions to the published policy, the Registrar or the Office of Accounting should be contacted.

Changes to tuition and fees

Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative or regional action and become effective on the date enacted. The Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed above are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the university administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents.

Excess Hours

As authorized by state law, a student who pays resident tuition rates and who attempts hours that exceed a designated limit will be charged a higher tuition rate of $325 per semester credit hour or nonresident tuition rates. The designated limit for a student who initially enrolled in an institution of higher education in Fall 1999 through Summer 2006 is 45 credit hours beyond the required hours for the student’s declared degree program. The designated limit for a student who initially enrolled in an institution of higher education in Fall 2006 or later is 30 credit hours beyond the hours required for completion of the student’s degree program, or for doctoral students, 100 semester credit hours beyond the hours required for completion.

 

The following semester credit hours are not included in the calculation:

  • semester credit hours earned by the student 10 or more years before the date the student begins the new degree program under the Academic Fresh Start Program of the Texas Education Code, § 51.931;
  • hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that has previously been awarded to the student;
  • hours earned by the student by examination or similar method without registering for a course
  • hours from remedial and developmental courses, workforce education courses, or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree at the institution if the course work is within the 27-hour limit at two-year colleges and the 18-hour limit at general academic institutions;
  • hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution; and
  • hours not eligible for formula funding.

 

For more information contact the Registrar Office at (432) 552-2635.

Three-peat charge 

A student whose hours may no longer be submitted for formula funding because it is the same or substantially similar to a course that the student previously attempted for two or more times at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin will be charged a higher tuition rate of $417 per semester credit hour or nonresident tuition rates.

Summary Descriptions of Required Tuition and Fees

Student Services FeeVariety

A non-refundable, one time, compulsory fee to defray orientation costs.

Name of/Classification Residency Amount Notes
UNDERGRADUATE
In-State Resident $195.59/sch Set by Legislature and Board of Regents (Texas Education Code 54.0512 and 54.0513)
Out-of -State Non-Resident $230.59/sch Set by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board per Statutory Requirement.
GRADUATE
In-state Resident $245.59/sch Governing board may set at twice statutory rates for undergraduate programs
Out-of-State Non-Resident $280.59/sch Set by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board per Statutory Requirement.
REQUIRED FEES:
Advising Fee All Students $15/semester A non-refundable, compulsory fee to defray costs of student advising.
Athletic Fee All Students $21.20/sch A fee to support the intercollegiate athletics program
Technology Fee All Students $7.75/sch A fee for support of student technology needs and applications.
Library Service Fee All Students $5/sch A compulsory fee to fund an increase in direct services to students including on-line access to academic indexes and electronic library services.
Medical Service Fee All Students $14.63/semester
Orientation Transfer Students $75 A non-refundable, one time, compulsory fee to defray
Orientation Freshman Students $120

A non-refundable, one time, compulsory fee to defray orientation costs.

Student Services Fee All Students $16.34/sch A compulsory fee to fund student services and operations and use of facilities and activities; governing board may set at a rate up to the statutory tuition for resident undergraduate students- Max $250
Student Multi-Purpose Center Fee All Students $150/semester A fee to finance, construct, operate, and maintain a Student Multi-Purpose Center Fee
INCIDENTAL FEES:
Audit Fee Students desiring to audit $35/sch of course plus lab fee To defray costs incurred in scheduling non- participants in scheduled classes.
Student ID Fee All Students $10/student ID A fee to defray the cost for the student identification card.
Variety All Students Variable For specific services such as late registration, library fines, microfilming fees, bad check charges, application.
Mandatory charges for certain laboratory courses; may not be less than $5/semester or more than $30/semester and must not exceed the cost of actual materials and supplies used by a student.
Charges in addition to regular tuition for students registered in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music where individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of instruction.
Laboratory Fees:      
Variety All Students Variable  
Supplemental Fees:      
Variety All Students Variable  

Voluntary Fees: Variety Students desiring the specific service may include such items as parking fees, yearbooks, and a locker fee.

LIST OF FEES:

Add/Drop Fee. To defray costs incurred when a student adds or drops a course or courses, a $5 per transaction fee will be assessed.

Advising Fee. To defray costs of student advising, a charge of $10 per student per semester will be assessed. THIS IS A NON-REFUNDABLE FEE.

Athletic Fee. To support the intercollegiate athletics program, a $12 per semester credit hour fee will be assessed.

Audit Fee. To defray administrative costs incurred in scheduling non-credit participants in scheduled classes, a $35 per credit hour of class without a lab and a class with a lab will be assessed the same amount plus the lab fee.

Distance Education Fee. To defray the costs associated with providing materials, services and instructional support for Distance Education courses, a $80 per credit hour will be charged.

Education Seminar Course Fee. To defray costs of a diagnostic test kit, a $25 fee will be charged.

Education Field-Based Instruction Fee. A $10 per course fee will be charged to recover travel costs in certain field-based educational courses.

Education Internship Fee. Student interns are assessed a $50 fee to cover administrative and travel expenses associated with providing supervision for teaching internships in Education 4692.

Education Internship: Diagnostician Course Fee. To defray costs of a diagnostic test kit, a $25 fee will be charged.

Education Learning Theory and Assessment Course Fee. To defray costs of a diagnostic test kit, a $25 fee will be charged.

Education Practicum: Reading Course Fee. To defray costs of a diagnostic test kit, a $25 fee will be charged.

Education Reading Diagnostic/Remediation Course Fee. To defray costs of diagnostic tests, a $25 fee will be charged.

Education Student Teaching Course Fee. Students enrolled in Student Teaching, Education 4099 and Education 4399, are assessed a $65 fee to defray the costs of providing cooperating teachers for supervision of student teachers.

Geology Field Course Fee. A $650 fee will be charged for the GEOL 4600 Field Geology course.

Health Insurance Fee. International students holding nonimmigrant visas and living in the United States will be assessed a fee to defray costs of mandatory insurance. The rate will be variable to match the premium for the approved U. T. System student insurance plan. The fee will be waived where the student provides satisfactory evidence of approved comprehensive health insurance, as outlined by Regents Rule 50402. Students should contact the Office of Admissions for more information.

Nursing Insurance Fee.  Nursing students will be assessed a fee for specific courses.  The rate will be variable.  The fee will be waived where the student provides satisfactory evidence of approved comprehensive insurance.  Please contact the Nursing Department for more information.

In Absentia Fee. The fee for in absentia registration is $25.00. The fee is assessed to those students who need to register in the University for the purpose of having a degree conferred, but not for courses. No refund is made for the cancellation of an in absentia registration. For more information regarding the in absentia fee, see “Undergraduate and Graduate Degree Requirements.”

Installment Tuition Fees. To cover costs related to providing the installment payment option. The Tuition Handling Fee is $75 per academic term; The Tuition Delinquency Fee is $10 per delinquent payment.

Laboratory Fees. There are a variety of mandatory charges for certain laboratory courses; they may not be less than $1 per semester nor more than $30 per semester and must not exceed the cost of actual materials and supplies used by a student.

Late Registration Fee. Any student who, with proper permission, registers after the scheduled registration in that semester, will be required to pay a special charge of $15 to defray costs associated with keeping registration open after published times.

Library Fees. The following fees are to cover library operational costs associated with the processing, storage and purchase of lost or damaged books or books returned after the due date and with search, copy, and interlibrary loans. To cover library costs for the purchase of equipment, furniture and technology dealing with library resource management and costs of other library operations.

The late fee and processing fee are non-refundable.

  Printer Cards: Cards of various denominations. Starting at $1 at a rate of $.05/page.
  Damaged Book: $7.50 if the book can be repaired.
Cost of book plus $15 processing fee if the book cannot be repaired .
$50 plus $15 processing fee if the book cannot be replaced.
  Info Express
(Document Delivery)
$5 per item +.15 per page over 50 pages.
$10 per item + .25 per page over 25 pages
  Interlibrary Loan: $1.50 computer charge plus supplier and handling costs; $5/Rush
  Library Fax: $1/ + .20 per page over 3 pages (Domestic)
$5/ + full cost of all telecommunication and other charges (International).
  Lost Book:

Replacement cost plus $15 processing fee.
$50 plus $15 processing fee if book volume cannot be replaced.
$25 per item for materials from the curriculum collection plus $15 processing fee.
$125 per item for reference volumes plus $15 processing fee.
$100 per microform volume equivalent plus $15 replacement fee.

Replacement fee will be credited automatically when an overdue item is returned in good condition.

Overdue Charges:  
  General Check Out: $0.25/day/item
  Interlibrary Loan: $1/day on overdue materials
  Recalled Books: $1/day
  Reserve Books: $0.25/hour
Video/Non-Print  
  Media: $1/day
  Thesis and Book $7.50 plus any additional costs required for
  Binding: Special binding such as pocket part, tipping of maps, etc. to a maximum of $15.
  Transparency: $0.50 black/white, $2 /color

Library Service Fee. A compulsory fee for all students in the amount of $3 per semester credit hour to fund an increase in direct services to students including on-line access to academic indexes and electronic library services.
Medical Service Fee. A compulsory fee for all students to provide medical services for students at the contract facility with a $10 co-pay.

Fall and Spring Semester: $ 13.30
Summer Semester: $ 5.00

Orientation Fee. A compulsory fee for all students of $75, which provides a new student orientation prior to registration.
THIS IS A NONREFUNDABLE FEE.

Parking Permit Fees. Students will register their cars in a single payment for the entire school year or the balance of the school year in which they register, whichever is applicable. The school year is August 15 through August 14. The following fees will be charged:

Passenger vehicles and trucks: $45 per year
Additional Parking Permit Fee: $7
Two-wheel vehicles (motorcycles, scooters, motorbikes): $45 per year

Contingent on Board of Regents approval the rates may be increased.

Enforcement Fees

Parking Violations: $10-$35 for each offense; depending on type of offense
Moving and non-moving violations: $30-$100/each

Failure to pay an assessed fee within 10 calendar days of receiving the citation will result in a $3.00 late charge.

**Fees are subject to change**

Placement Services Fee. Students will be charged $20 for the establishment of each placement file and $16 for the second set of 10 copies to defray the costs of compiling, maintaining, and mailing student placement files.

Property Deposit. A $20 property deposit shall be collected from each student. The deposit shall be returned on the withdrawal or graduation of the student who so requests, less any loss, damage, or breakage caused by the student. Any deposit which remains without call for a refund for a period of four years from last attendance shall be forfeited.

Returned checks. A service charge of $25 will be assessed for each returned check.

Student Identification Card. All students will be charged a $10.00 service fee per student identification card as approved by The University of Texas System Board of Regents. This is not a purchase fee. The student I. D. Card is the property of U. T. Permian Basin and return may be required upon the student’s withdrawal from the University, when it has been put to fraudulent use, or at other times determined appropriate by administrative officers of the University.

Student Services Fee. The Student Services fee is compulsory for all students. The amount charged is $14.85 per semester credit hour. The maximum Student Services fee per semester is $250.00. Students who register for the summer session are charged on the same basis as students registered during the regular academic year. The fee provides funding for extracurricular activities and events designed to augment student life at U. T. Permian Basin and reservation privileges at the gymnasium.
Students registered in absentia are not eligible to participate in student services and programs unless the regular fees are paid. The Student Handbook publishes the available programs, activities and services that the fee provides. This handbook is available at registration or from the Office of Student Life.
Refund of the Student Services fee to students withdrawing is made on the same basis as refund of the registration and tuition fees.
The Board of Regents may set the fee at a rate up to $250/semester for resident undergraduate students.

Supplemental Fees. These include a variety of fees charged in addition to regular tuition for students registered in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music where individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of instruction.

Teacher Certification Credentials Fee. A $10 fee will be charged to cover the costs of evaluating student credentials for state teacher certification.

Teacher Certification Deficiency Plan Fee. A $30 fee per student will be charged to defray the cost of preparation of deficiency plans.

Test Administration Fee. To defray administrative costs in the Programs Assisting Student Studies (PASS) Office, a fee of $10 per test will be charged. (This does not include the cost of the test.)

Cost of tests:

  1. College Level Examination Program Fee ($44)
  2. Quick Texas Academic Skills Program (THEA)
  3. Fee – Non-Students ($10)
  4. Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) (Institutional Administration) ($30)

Theatre Appreciation Course Fee. A $25 per student fee will be assessed to defray the costs of theatre attendance required for students enrolled in DRAM 2301.

Transcript Fee. There is a transcript charge of $7 for each University transcript ordered to defray costs of retrieving, duplicating, and mailing transcripts. Additional Fees for Faxing processing and Express delivery charges may incur.

Voluntary Fees. Variety of fees for students desiring a specific service which may include such items as parking fees, yearbooks, locker fees, and intercollegiate athletics passes.
 

Institutional Eligibility Requirements

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin has a current Eligibility and Certification Approval Report (ECAR) on file.
For Graduate Students UTPB is approved to participate in the following financial aid programs:
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loans
Federal Work Study
TEACH Grant
Last updated: 05/27/2016

Program Eligibility

All of the academic programs listed in the University Catalog that lead to the completion of a bachelor’s or master’s degree are eligible for Title IV funds. These programs have been approved by, the University, the UT Board of Regents, and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. As long as a student is enrolled in one of these programs they can receive Title IV funds.

It is the responsibility of the Office of Financial Aid to determine that a student is actually enrolled in a program that qualifies for Title IV funds. This is done before any funds are awarded or disbursed. All programs are measured by credit hours on a semester basis. The Registrar’s Office is responsible for making sure that all classes taught meet the appropriate guidelines for duration and contact hours as set by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The academic calendar is set by the Registrar’s Office and printed both in the University Catalog and in the corresponding semester schedule. At the completion of a program the Registrar’s Office is responsible for awarding the appropriate degree. To earn a degree, a student must meet all of the criteria listed in the University Catalog, as well as have the approval of their academic advisor and department chair. The Faculty Senate must recommend the student be allowed to graduate and the President confers the degree to the student.

Ineligible Programs

These programs are ineligible for Title IV aid:

  • Continuing education courses have not been approved for academic credit and are therefore not eligible
  • Post baccalaureate students who are non-degree seeking and not seeking teacher certification

General Title IV Student Eligibility Requirements

To be considered a student eligible to receive Title IV funds, they must:

  • Be enrolled as a regular student in an eligible program
  • Have a high school diploma or its recognized equivalent (e.g., a GED);
  • Be enrolled in an eligible institution that participates in a state process approved by the Secretary.
  • Have a valid Social Security Number with the Social Security Administration, if required
  • Be a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
  • Be registered with Selective Service, if required
  • Not be in default on a Title IV loan or, if in default, have made satisfactory repayment arrangements with the loan holder
  • Have not obtained loan amounts that exceed annual or aggregate loan limits made under any Title IV loan program
  • Not be liable for an overpayment of a Title IV grant or Federal Perkins Loan or, if liable, have made satisfactory repayment arrangements with the holder of the debt
  • Be making satisfactory academic progress (SAP)
  • Not have property which is subject to a judgment lien for a debt owed to the U.S. or, if subject to a judgment lien, have made satisfactory repayment arrangements with the debt holder
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving the possession or sale of illegal drugs that occurred while the student was enrolled and receiving Title IV aid
  • Have completed repayment of funds to either ED or the holder of a loan, as applicable, if the student has been convicted of, or pled nolo contendere or guilty to, a crime involving fraud in obtaining Title IV aid

**Graduate students enrolled in the accelerated 8 week online class may be eligible to receive a reduced amount of loans for being enrolled in one 3 credit hours class per semester. Please contact Financial Aid for more information at (432) 552-2620.

Federal Direct Loan (Unsubsidized)

Once a student earns their first Bachelor’s degree they are no longer eligible to receive Federal Pell Grant or Federal Direst Subsidized Loans. Graduate Students are only eligible to receive Federal unsubsidized loans. This means that the borrower begins paying interest on the loan at the time the loan is made. In most cases, the principal can be deferred during enrollment periods. Unsubsidized loans can be used to meet the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) calculated in the FAFSA need analysis.

Eligibility: There are several criteria that a student must meet to be eligible to receive loans.

  1. Must complete a FAFSA
  2. Must be enrolled in 6 hours (half-time) at the time the loans are to be transmitted**
  3. Must be registered in an approved program
  4. Must not be in loan default
  5. Not have exceeded their annual or aggregate loan limits
  6. Meet SAP

*Six semester credit hours constitute a full-time semester load for graduate students who are admitted to and enrolled in an accelerated online program, taking classes in eight week terms. For all other graduate students, nine semester credit hours constitute a full-time semester load. The maximum course load for graduate students is 15 semester credit hours in a fall or spring semester or 6 semester credit hours in a six week summer term.

Loans are packaged automatically to all students who qualify. If the student wishes to receive their additional unsubsidized amounts, they must come to the Office of Financial Aid and request them.

Accepting Loans: A student can accept all, some, or none of their loans. If a student wishes to accept their loans and have them applied to their bill, they must complete the loan acceptance process.

The loan acceptance process is as follows:

  1. Student completes entrance counseling at studentloans.gov
  2. Student completes a Master Promissory Note (MPN) at studentloans.gov
  3. Student accepts awarded loan acceptance thorough the muUTPB student portal

In the Fall semester, students who intend to enroll in both the Fall and Spring semesters will get one disbursement in the Fall and one disbursement in the Spring.

Students enrolled in the 8 week accelerated classes only, or who accept a loan in one semester at a time, will get their first disbursement at the beginning of the semester and their second disbursement at the 60% mark of the semester.

Once the Loan Officer has verified the student is eligible for a loan, they will initiate the disbursement process.

Over Awards, Refunds, and Returns: The Office of Financial Aid attempts to catch an over award before a refund check is sent to the student but sometimes this is not possible. In the instance of an over award, the student will be required to pay back the funds. If when the loan funds are applied to a student’s account, a refund occurs, the refund will be sent to the student.

If a loan has been originated, and before it is transmitted to the student, the student drops to less than half time status, the loan will be cancelled and the student will not receive it.

Reporting: Loan amounts are reported to COD, through EDE Express.

Disbursement Letters: Disbursement notification informs the student of when loans will be disbursed, as well as informing them that they do not have to accept their loans and they can return their loans if they fill out a loan cancellation form within 14 days of receiving their disbursement letter.

TEACH Grant

The TEACH Grant program is a non-need based grant program that provides up to $4,000 per year to students who are enrolled in an eligible program and who agree to teach in a high-need field, at a low income elementary or secondary school as a highly qualified teacher, for at least four years within eight years of completing the program for which the TEACH Grant is awarded.

The student must sign an Agreement to Serve (ATS), and complete entrance counseling each award year prior to receiving a TEACH Grant.

If the student fails to meet the requirements of the service agreement, the TEACH Grant will be treated as a Direct Unsubsidized loan, and the student must repay the TEACH funds, with interest accrued from the date of disbursement.

The TEACH Grant award amounts are similar to Pell awards in that there is a Scheduled Award, which is the maximum that a full time student would earn for a year, and an Annual Award, which is the amount a student would receive by enrolling for a year in an enrollment status.

A student may receive up to $16,000 in TEACH grants for undergraduate and post-baccalaureate study, and up to $8,000 for a TEACH-eligible master’s degree program.

Packaging: TEACH Grant is packaged if the student comes to the Office of Financial Aid and requests to receive them. Once the student requests TEACH Grant funds:

  • Their entrance counseling and ATS are checked for completion.
  • The student’s GPA is also checked, the minimum standard for GPA is 3.25.
  • The student’s major and certification type is checked. They must be completing a high needs certification.
  • If these are complete, the TEACH Grant is packaged to the student based on their enrollment status.

UTPB Book Voucher/Book Loans

Financial aid disbursements generally occur after the census date to minimize the number of students who get refunds that are not eligible for them. Because of this, UTPB offers book vouchers and book loans for students. The function of a book voucher/loan is to allow the student to put the cost of their books, and other supplies, on their bills so that their financial aid can cover the cost.

Students who have financial aid are eligible for a book voucher. A book voucher is interest free and is processed in the Office of Financial Aid. Students who do not have any financial aid can take out a book loan. A book loans is charged interest. The Office of Accounting is responsible for informing the student of the interest charge.

Definition of Disbursements & Disbursement Methods

Financial aid funds are generally disbursed using this method

  1. Office of Financial Aid determines a student’s eligibility for funds.
  2. Office of Financial Aid disbursed the funds to the student’s account.
  3. If the student’s account enters credit status, the Office of Accounting will process a residual check for the student within 14 business days.

It is the intention that financial aid will cover the student’s balance, however in certain instances it may be possible that the aid is applied, a refund issued, and additional charges are later put on the account. This happens most often with book vouchers and students adding additional courses. In these situations, the student will be required to pay their balance with their refund check.

Title IV funds are disbursed to students on a reimbursement method. Students are not penalized if their aid is delayed, but may be required to pay their balance and then receive reimbursement depending on the situation. The Office of Financial Aid cannot guarantee that a student will receive their aid if they do not have a completed FAFSA on file by July 15th for Fall or November 15th for Spring. Students who do not meet the priority deadline will have to pay their balances for the semester and then be reimbursed once their aid is awarded and disbursed.

Disbursement Dates & Schedules

Disbursement dates can be found in the appropriate semester schedule.

Satisfactory Academic Progress

Although state and national policy has established many objectives for student financial aid programs, one clear purpose is to fund only students who meet certain academic standards. Institutions are therefore required by law to formulate standards to gauge the progress of students receiving federal and state financial aid by applying both qualitative and quantitative measurements to academic work. A maximum time limit for the completion of a degree and a minimum grade point average (GPA) are used by the University to measure satisfactory academic progress. The qualitative standard of satisfactory academic progress is measured by the cumulative grade point average (CGPA) of courses taken at U. T. Permian Basin. To be making SAP Graduate students must maintain a 3.0 GPA and a 75% completion rate. Funded hours are those semester credit hours which are counted in determining a student’s enrollment status for payment of financial aid. Courses in which a “W”, “D”, “F”, “U” or “Z” has been recorded may be repeated once and be included as funded hours for financial aid (i.e., in the 12+ hours for full-time enrollment). Repeated courses in which a grade of “C” or higher, “S” or “I” has been recorded will not be included as funded hours for financial aid. Audited courses cannot be funded with financial aid or counted in the progress requirements.

Student Academic Progress will be checked after each semester. Progress will be checked at the end of the fall semester. Students who are found to not be making progress either for qualitative or quantitative reasons will be put on Financial Aid Warning. Students with a warning status will not have their aid suspended and will be allowed to receive aid for one additional semester. At the end of the spring semester academic progress will be checked again. All students who are on Financial Aid Warning, and have not met the minimum requirements for academic progress will be put on financial aid suspension. These students will not be eligible to receive aid until they have successfully met the academic progress standards or successfully appealed their SAP


Sample of total tuition and fee charges for a semester
Fall 2018

Institution: The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

The table can be used to estimate the full costs of one semester for Texas resident students. For undergraduates, the amounts are shown for 12 and 15 semester credit hours (SCH). For graduate students, the table gives amounts for 3 and 9 SCHs. If a student enrolls for a different number of hours, he or she may use the extra column to calculate those costs using the per semester credit hour charges for tuition and fees that are based on the number of hours of credit (see class schedule for details). Since the table shows only average charges for college and course related fees, a more precise total would have to be calculated by determining the actual fees for the student’s school or college and the courses for which the student has enrolled. Necessary information may be obtained from the Office of Accounting, the class schedule and/or UTPB’s Home page on the web at www.utpb.edu on the tuition and fee tables.

  Undergraduate   Graduate  
Name of Charge 12 15 3 9
Resident Tuition (1) 2830.80 2933.85 736.77 2210.31
Add: Required Fees        
Student Services Fees 196.08 245.10 49.02 147.06
Library Service Fee 60.00 75.00 15.00 45.00
Athletic Fee 254.40 318.00 63.60 190.80
Student Multi-Purpose Center 150.00 150.00 150.00 150.00
Advising Fee 15.00 15.00 15.00 15.00
Technology Fee 93.00 116.25 23.25 69.75
Medical Service Fee 14.63 14.63 14.63 14.63
Total Charges 2891.14 3561.85 879.01 2220.43
  1. At the time this catalog is going to print, tuition changes are under consideration by the State of Texas Legislature and the Board of Regents of the University of Texas System. Thus, actual tuition may change.
  2. Required fees, those charged to all students, may be based on semester credit hours or may be persemester.
  3. Averages only are given for college and course related fee charges (laboratory, incidental, supplemental/individual instruction fees) since charges vary according to academic program and courses; actual fees are published in the institutional catalog and/or other publications. A summary description of these fees and the optional student services fees may be found in an attachment, the UTPB catalog and/or on UTPB’s website at www.utpb.edu.
  4. A one time, $20.00 property deposit is charged to all first time students. A onetime orientation fee of $35.00 for freshman students and $15.00 for transfer students is charged for providing a new student orientation prior to registration. These amounts are not included in the totals.
  5. Students may enroll in programs that have different tuition structures.  An example would be online classes.  For online classes the following fees are not charged: Athletics Fee,  Student Service Fees, Medical Services Fee, Student Multipurpose Center and Repurposed Athletic Fee.   However, students will be charged the following fees: Technology Fee, Library Fee, Advising Fee and Distance Education Fee.

**Fees are subject to change**