Nov 20, 2019  
2018 - 2020 UTPB Graduate Studies Catalog 
    
2018 - 2020 UTPB Graduate Studies Catalog

Graduate Faculty


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Harold C. Abrams, Assistant Professor of Public Administration
BA, Colgate University; MS, State University of New York at Stony Brook; Ph.D. (1991), New York University.
Abrams_H@utpb.edu

Perla Ábrego Quintero, Associate Professor of Spanish

BA, Escuela Normal Superior de Coahuila; MA, Universidad de Antioquia; PhD (2011), Vanderbilt University

abrego_p@utpb.edu 

Steven J. Aicinena, Professor of Kinesiology
BA, University of California at Davis; MA, Idaho State University; EdD (1988), University of Northern Colorado
Aicinena_S@utpb.edu

Sophia Andres, Professor of English and Kathlyn Cosper Dunagan Professor in the Humanities
BA, MA, San Jose State University, California; PhD (1985), University of Edinburgh, Scotland
Andres_S@utpb.edu

Maria Avalos, Associate Professor of Counseling
BA, Southwestern University; Med, Texas State University; PhD, University of Texas at Austin;Licensed Professional Counselor Supervisor, Texas; National Certified Counselor, United States 
Avalos_M@utpb.edu

Rebecca Babcock, William and Ordelle Watts Professor of English
BA, MA, University of Massachusetts; PhD (2005), Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Babcock_R@utpb.edu

Kevin Badgett, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership
BA, Pepperdine University; MS, EdD (2011), University of Houston-Clear Lake
Badgett_K@utpb.edu

Lindsey Balderaz, Assistant Professor of Education-Early Childhood Education
BA, Texas Tech University; M.Ed, PhD (2014) University of North Texas
Baldarez_L@utpb.edu

Steven Beach, Professor of Finance                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
BBA, MBA Tennessee Technological University; PhD (1999)Washington State University                                                                                                                                     
Beach_s@utpb.edu                                                                                                                                  

Scott A. Carson, Associate Professor of Economics
BS, MS, Brigham Young University; PhD (1998), University of Utah
Carson_S@utpb.edu

Derek Catsam, Professor of History & Kathlyn Cosper Dunagan Professor in the Humanities
BA, Williams College; MA, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; PhD (2003), Ohio University
Catsam_D@utpb.edu

Wei-ju Chen, Assistant Professor of Psychology

BS, San Jose University; MA, San Jose University; PhD (2017), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Chen__w@utpb.edu

Roy Counts, Associate Professor of Accounting                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

BBA, University of Texas-Permian Basin; MS, PhD (2005), Texas Tech University                                                                                                                                                                 

Counts_r@utpb.edu

Mei-Zhen Cui, Professor of Biology
BS Jilin University, Changchum, China; PhD (1990), Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo
Cui_M@utpb.edu

Larry G. Daniel, Professor and Dean of the College of Education

BS, Southeastern University; MEd, PhD (1989), University of New Orleans

Daniel_L@utpb.edu

Wilma R. Dye, Associate Professor of Accountancy
BBA, San Jose State University, California; MS, University of North Texas; PhD (1998), Texas Tech University
Dye_W@utpb.edu

James Eldridge, Professor of Kinesiology
BA, Texas Lutheran College; MA, Southwest Texas State University; EdD (1996), University of Houston
Eldridge_J@utpb.edu

Craig Emmert, Associate Professor of Political Science and Assistant Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
BS, Oklahoma State University; MA, Purdue University; PhD (1989), Florida State University
Emmert_C@utpb.edu

William R. Fannin, Professor of Management/Marketing, BA, MBA, University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1980), Texas A&M University
Fannin_W@utpb.edu

Paul Feit, Professor of Mathematics                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

BS, Harvard University; PhD (1985), Princeton University                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

feit_p@utpb.edu

Marlon Fick, Associate Professor of English

BA University of Kansas, MA New York University, PhD (1992) University of Kansas

Fick_m@utpb.edu

John Fisher, Assistant Professor of Criminology

BA, Angelo State University; MS, Sul Ross State University; MA Sul Ross State University; Ph.D. (2016) Walden University.

fisher_j@utpb.edu

Michael Frawley, Assistant Professor of History, BA, Penn State Erie; MA, Edinboro University Pennsylvania; PhD (2014) Louisiana State University                                   

Frawley_m@utpb.edu

Lili Gai, Assistant Professor of Marketing                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

BA, MA, Heilongjiang University; PhD (2014), University of North Texas                                                                                                                                                                       

gai_l@utpb.edu

Jessica Garrett, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership
BS, West Texas State University; MA, University of Texas of the Permian Basin; EdD (2004), Sam Houston State University
Staib_J@utpb.edu

John Garza, Assistant Professor of Mathematics    

BS, University of Texas; PhD (2008) University of Texas Austin                                                                 

garza_j@utpb.edu

Paul J. Haensly, Associate Professor of Finance
BS, Texas A&M University; MA, University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1994), University of North Texas
Haensly_P@utpb.edu

Joanna Hadjicostandi, Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Northeastern University (1987).
Hadjicostandi_J@utpb.edu

Douglas P. Henderson, Professor of Biology
BA, Fairmont State College, W. Virginia; PhD (1993), University of Texas at Austin
Henderson_D@utpb.edu

Joonghyeok Heo, Assistant Professor of Hydrogeology
BS, Chungnam National University; MS, Seoul National University (South Korea); PhD (2013), Texas A&M University- College Station
Heo_J@utpb.edu

Christopher Hiatt, Associate Professor of Mathematics.
BS, University of Idaho; MA, PhD (2007), University of Southern California.
Hiatt_C@utpb.edu

Imane Hijal-Moghrabi, Assistant Professor of Public Administration

BA, American University of Beirut;  MA, American University of Beirut; PhD (2015), University of Texas at Dallas

hijal_i@utpb.edu

Anthony Hoskin, Assistant Professor of Criminology
BS, Sociology; PhD (1999), State University of New York at Albany
Hoskin_A@utpb.edu

Jamie S. Hughes, Associate Professor of Psychology

BS, Michigan State University; MA, Illinois State University; PhD (2010), New Mexico State University

Hughes_j@utpb.edu

Roy Hurst, Professor of Education and Associate Dean of the College of Education
BA, Whitman College; MS, Eastern Oregon University; PhD (1994), University of Southern Mississippi
Hurst_R@utpb.edu

Yuliana Kenfield, Assistant Professor of Education – Bilingual/ESL Education

BS, University of San Antonio Abad of Cusco; MA, University of Antonio de Negrija; PhD (2018) University of New Mexico

kenfield_y@utpb.edu

Kay E. Ketzenberger, Associate Professor of Psychology
BA, University of Baltimore; MS, University of Texas at Austin; PhD (1995), Michigan State University
Ketzenberger_K@utpb.edu

Richard G. Kiekbusch, Associate Professor of Criminology
BA, MA, PhD (1973), University of Notre Dame
Kiekbusch_R@utpb.edu

Samantha Klassen-Bolding, Assistant Professor of Counseling
BA, Angelo State University; MA, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi; PhD (2017), Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi; Licensed Professional Counselor, Texas
klassen_s@utpb.edu

Gae E. Kovalick, Associate Professor of Biology
BA, Wittenberg University; PhD (1984), University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Kovalick_G@utpb.edu

Jason Lagapa, Professor of English
BA, Bennington College; MA, PhD (2003), University of Arizona
Lagapa_J@utpb.edu

Shelly Landreth, Assistant Professor of Reading                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

BA, MLS, EdD (2019), Sam Houston State University                                                                                                                                                                                             

Landreth_s@utpb.edu

Haesun Lee, Professor of Computer Science
BA, EWHA Women University; MS, PhD (1997), Illinois Institute of Technology
Lee_H@utpb.edu

Ilhyun Lee, Professor of Computer Science
BA, University of Minnesota; MS, PhD (1996), Illinois Institute of Technology
Lee_L@utpb.edu

Kimberly Little, Assistant Professor of Biology
BS, Auburn University; PhD (2014), Lehigh University
Little_K@utpb.edu

Richard Lloyd, Associate Clinical Professor of Kinesiology
EdD (2004), New Mexico State University
Lloyd_R@utpb.edu

Ana Martinez-Catsam, Associate Professor of History
BA, Texas A&M University; MA, St. Mary’s University; PhD (2003), Texas Tech University
Martinez_A@utpb.edu

Antonio Moreno, Assistant Professor of Spanish

BA, University of Chihuahua; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; PhD, University of Kansas

moreno_j@utpb.edu

David Morris, Associate Professor of Kinesiology
PhD (2004), University of New Mexico
Morris_Da@utpb.edu

Robert Morrison, Assistant Professor of Business & Technology                                                                                                                                                                                                     

BS, Eastern Kentucky University; MS, MBA, Morehead State University; PhD (2008), Indiana State University; PhD (2015), University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley           

morrison_r@utpb.edu

Lauren Browning Neal, Assistant Professor of Psychology

BA, Lee University; MA, University of Alabama; PhD (2019), University of Alabama 

 

Dongfang Nie, Assistant Professor of Accounting                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

BBA, MS, MA, MACC University of Hawaii-Manoa; PhD (2019) University of North Texas                                                                                                                                         

Nie_d@utpb.edu

Athenia Oldham, Assistant Professor of Biology
BS, MS University of Texas of the Permian Basin; PhD (2010), University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oldham_a@utpb.edu

James N. Olson, Professor of Psychology
BA, University of California-Santa Barbara; MA, PhD (1974), University of California-Los Angeles
Olson_J@utpb.edu

Prakash Pai, Associate Professor of Finance
BC, MC, Bangalore University; MBA, MS, PhD (2004), Kent State University
Pai_P@utpb.edu

Gary Ryan Peckham, Assistant Professor of Managment                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

BS, Texas A&M University; MBA, University of Texas Dallas; DBA (2018), University of Liverpool                                                                                                                                   

peckham_g@utpb.edu

Robert L. Perry, Associate Professor of Political Science
BA, PhD (1995), Texas A&M University
Perry_R@utpb.edu

William H. Price, Associate Professor of Management 
BBA, Eastern New Mexico State University; MS, Gonzaga University; DBA (2001), Nova Southeastern University
Price_W@utpb.edu

Quan Yuan, Associate Professor of Computer Science
BS, MS, Huazhong University of Science and Technology; PhD (2009), Florida Atlantic University

Todd Richardson, Professor of English
BA, College of Wooster; MA, University of Delaware; PhD (2002), University of South Carolina
Richardson_T@utpb.edu

J. Michael Robinson, Professor of Chemistry and Ellen and Bill Noël Distinguished Professor for Energy Research
BS, MS, Louisiana Technological University; PhD (1973), Louisiana State University
Robinson_M@utpb.edu

Kara Rosenblatt, Associate Professor of Education-Special Education 
BS, MS Florida State University; PhD (2009) University of Central Florida
Rosenblatt_K@utpb.edu

R. Nichole Rougeau-Vanderford, Lecturer English

B.A. University of Southwestern Louisiana, M.A., University of Southwestern Louisiana Ph.D. (2005), Louisiana State University

Vanderford_n@utpb.edu

Myra Salcedo, Lecturer English

B.A., MA University of Texas of the Permian Basin; Ph.D. (2014) University of Texas Arlington

Salcedo_m@utpb.edu

Yolanda Salgado, Associate Professor of Education- Bilingual/ESL Education
BS, Arizona State University; MA, University of Texas of the Permian Basin; PhD (2008), New Mexico State University
Salgado_Y@utpb.edu

Anshu Saran, Associate Professor 
BA, University of Allahabad India; MBA, Asian Institute of Management, Manila, Philippines; PhD, The University of Texas –Pan American
Saran_A@utpb.edu

R. Douglas Spence, Associate Professor of Biology
BS, Houston Baptist University; MS, PhD (1986), Texas A&M University
Spence_D@utpb.edu

Roland Spickermann, Associate Professor of History
BA, University of California at Berkeley; MA, PhD (1994), University of Michigan
Spickermann_R@utpb.edu

Joseph Stauffer, Associate Professor of Management                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

BB, MBA, Western Illinois University; MA, University of Iowa; PhD, University of Oklahoma                                                                                                                                         

stauffer_j@utpb.edu

Carol Sullivan, Associate Professor of Accounting                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

BBA, MS, PhD (1992), Texas A&M University                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Sullivan_c@utpb.edu

Robert Trentham, Senior Lecturer
BS, MA, City College of New York; DGS (1981), University of Texas El Paso
Trentham_R@utpb.edu

Sumit Verman, Assistant Professor of Geophysics
BS, University of Allahabad (India); MS, ISM Dhanbad (India); PhD (2015), University of Oklahoma
Verma_S@utpb.edu

Sarah Shawn Watson, Associate Professor of English
BA, University of Massachusetts-Boston; MA, Ohio University; PhD (1983), Cornell University
Watson_S@utpb.edu

Mark Wildermuth, Dunagan Professor of English
BA, MA, George Mason University; PhD (1991), University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wildermuth_M@utpb.edu

Tara Wilson, Assistant Professor of Literacy, Languages & Special Populations                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

BS, MED, EdD (2015) Sam Houston State University 2015                                                                                                                                                                                               

Wilson_t@utpb.edu

Xuemin Xu, Professor of Biology
BS, Jilin University, Chanchun, China; PhD (1989) Tokyo Institue of Technology, Tokyo
Xu_X@utpb.edu

Quan Yuan, Assitant Professor of Computer Science
BS, MS, Huazhong University of Science and Technology; PhD (2009), Florida Atlantic University                                                                                                                                  

yuan_q@utpb.edu

Michael S. Zavada, Professor of Biology

BS, Arizona State University; BA, University of Connecticut; MS, Arizona State University; PhD (1982), University of Connecticut

zavada_m@utpb.edu

Xinyun Zhu, Associate Professor of Mathematics                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

BS, Northwest Normal University; MS, Shanxi Normal University; PhD (2005), Oklahoma State University                                                                                                                                           

zhu_x@utpb.edu

Mohamed K. Zobaa, Assistant Professor of Geology
BS, MS Benha University (Egypt); PhD (2011) Missouri University of Science and Technology
Zobaa_M@utpb.edu

Thomas Dynneson, Professor of Education, Emeritus, 1973-1995.
Patricio Jaramillo, Professor of Education, Emeritus.
Edwin Kurtz, Professor of Life Science, Emeritus, 1972-1989.
Stanley Marcus, Professor of Art, Emeritus, 1973-1992.
James A. Nickel, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, Emeritus, 1972-1993.
Robert Colbert Rhodes, Professor of Sociology, Emeritus, 1975-2002.
Frank N. Samponaro, Professor of History, Emeritus, 1974-1999.