Jan 22, 2020  
2019 - 2020 UTPB Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2019 - 2020 UTPB Undergraduate Catalog

Intercollegiate Athletics



Athletics Philosophy

The University of Texas Permian Basin (UTPB) Intercollegiate Athletics Program exists to afford students the opportunity to participate in a structured program of athletics as they work toward earning a college degree.

Students participating in Athletics must understand that although participation in athletics can be a rewarding and memorable aspect of the college experience, earning a degree is their primary goal.  Student athletes must be committed to regular class attendance, academic integrity, and the realization of their academic potential.

There are educational values to be obtained through participation in a structured program of athletics. Athletic participation shall assist in the development of the whole individual: physically, cognitively, emotionally, and spiritually. Accordingly the welfare of student athletes is vitally important. UTPB student-athletes have access to health care and mental-health services as well as academic tutoring, counseling and advising as a means of contributing to their well-being and development.

UTPB student-athletes are encouraged to interact with individuals from all areas of campus in order to enhance their social development and quality of life. They are encouraged to participate in student-life programs such as the Campus Activities Board, Student Senate, intramurals, campus clubs and student housing activities as a means of interacting with individuals of various races, ethnicities and socioeconomic backgrounds.

The Athletic Department strives to offer equitable participation opportunities to men and women as it fosters acceptance and discourages discrimination of any kind. The Athletics Department will strive to achieve diversity in its Administrative, Coaching and Support Staff positions.

The Athletics Department is committed to:

  • Principles of sportsmanship and fair play
  • Ethical activity in the areas of recruiting, athletic competition and academic achievement
  • Amateurism in college sport
  • Compliance with all NCAA, Lone Star Conference, and University of Texas System rules and regulations

Athletics at a Glance

The Athletics program was started in 1994 and is funded through student fees and private donations - state funds cannot be used.  The Department current sponsors 16 varsity teams; with over 400 students involved in the athletic program as student-athletes, trainers and managers. Admission to home athletic events is free to all UTPB students.

Men’s intercollegiate sports offerings include: baseball, basketball, cross-country, football, golf, soccer, swimming/diving, and tennis. Women’s intercollegiate sports offerings include: basketball, cross-country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming/diving, tennis, and volleyball.

The Athletics Department is a NCAA Division II member and participates in the Lone Star Conference. Athletics awards over $1 million annually in athletic scholarships.

UT Permian Basin has a rich history of winning Championships including Baseball (2009), Men’s Basketball (2011 & 2017), Women’s Basketball (2013), men’s soccer (2005) and Volleyball (1999, 2007 & 2008).

General Eligibility Requirements

In order to be eligible to participate in Intercollegiate Athletics, students must meet all eligibility requirements set forth by the NCAA. Complete requirements are too numerous to list here. A thorough eligibility check is completed before the first competition each season. General eligibility guidelines are presented in following sections.

Full-Time Status

Students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours to be eligible to practice and compete. Students falling below 12 hours are ineligible.  In order to assure that students participating in athletics do not fall below 12 hours, an academic hold is placed on the schedule of each participant during the semester(s) of competition. The Athletics Compliance Officer should be consulted before adds or drops can be made.

Incoming Freshmen

Freshmen must graduate from high school and meet ALL the following requirements to be eligible:

  • Complete 16 core courses:
  • Three years of English.
  • Two years of math (Algebra 1 or higher).
  • Two years of natural or physical science (including one year of lab science if your high school offers it).
  • Three additional years of English, math or natural or physical science
  • Two years of social science
  • Four additional years of English, math, natural or physical science, social science, foreign language, comparative religion or philosophy
  • Earn at least a 2.2 GPA in your core courses.
  • Earn a SAT combined score of 870 or an ACT sum score of 70.

Additional Information on Freshman Eligibility can be found here: http://www.ncaa.org/student-athletes/play-division-ii-sports

Transfer Eligibility Information

For information concerning transfer eligibility guidelines, please visit the NCAA website and review transfer regulations presented in the NCAA Transfer Guide. http://www.ncaa.org/student-athletes/current/want-transfer

Program Administration

The Director of Athletics is Scott Farmer. His office is located in Gym 202. Any questions or concerns about the athletic program may be directed to him.

For Additional Information Please Contact:

Director of Athletics Scott Farmer AD@utpb.edu 432-552-2675
Administrative Assistant Monica Parrish parrish_m@utpb.edu 432-552-2677
Compliance Erin Bohn bohn_e@utpb.edu 432-552-3676
Development-Annual Giving Lynn Andress andress_l@utpb.edu 432-552-2338
Development-Corporate Leticia Reinke reinke_l@utpb.edu 432-552-2675
Marketing & Promotions Richard Acosta acosta_r@utpb.edu 432-552-3678
Sports Information Ryan Haage haage_r@utpb.edu 432-552-2803
Assistant SID Tom Perpetua perpetua_t@utpb.edu 432-552-3981
Athletic Training Tom Lechtenberg lechtenberg_t@utpb.edu 432-552-2679
Strength & Conditioning Adam Biehl biehl_a@utpb.edu 432-552-2981
Baseball Brian Reinke reinke_b@utpb.edu 432-552-2675
Men’s Basketball Josh Newman newman_j@utpb.edu 432-552-3677
Women’s Basketball Rae Boothe boothe_r@utpb.edu 432-552-3679
Men’s Cross Country Alick Musukuma musukuma_a@utpb.edu 432-552-4678
Women’s Cross Country Alick Musukuma musukuma_a@utpb.edu 432-552-4678
Football Justing Carrigan carrigan_j@utpb.edu 432-552-2681
Men’s Golf Kevan Schott schott_k@utpb.edu 432-552-2657
Women’s Golf Kevan Schott schott_k@utpb.edu 432-552-2657
Men’s Soccer Dennis Peterson peterson_d@utpb.edu 432-552-2678
Women’s Soccer Lindsey Garcia garcia_l@utpb.edu 432-552-2678
Softball Tiala Tagaloa tagaloa_T@utpb.edu 432-552-2676
Men’s Swimming Cameron Kainer kainer_c@utpb.edu 432-552-2335
Women’s Swimming Cameron Kainer kainer_c@utpb.edu 432-552-2335
Men’s Tennis Guillaume Gauthier gauthier_g@utpb.edu 432-552-4676
Men’s Tennis Guillaume Gauthier gauthier_g@utpb.edu 432-552-4676
Volleyball Tim Loesch loesch_t@utpb.edu 432-552-2675